Too Faced – Born This Way Foundation Review

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Product Name: Born This Way
Size: 1.0 oz (30 mL)
Price: $49 (+ taxes)
Shade: Natural Beige (18 shades in total)


Too Long, Didn’t Read

TLDR: feels luxurious, suits all skin types, oil-free, natural-matte finish, can sometimes get cakey; needs a careful application, 7/10 would recommend


About the Born This Way Foundation:

– Skin type: all skin types (normal, dry, combination, oily), acne prone, sensitive skin 
 Finish: natural-matte, healthy glow

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

What’s in it: 
– the foundation has coconut water infused in it; perfect for dry/flakey skin
– it’s also infused with hyaluronic acid; allows the skin to retain moisture


Review:

For starters, let’s just take a minute to appreciate the packaging of this product. The bottle is made of frosted glass and has some weight to it so it feels really luxurious. It also comes with a pump; my first ever pump foundation and I don’t think I could ever go back.

I first purchased this foundation about a year ago and immediately fell in love. At the time, I was suffering from acne, blemishes, and hyperpigmentation (and low self-esteem, tbh) so I was looking for heavier coverage. It was like my saving grace; it covered my acne and scars beautifully and left my skin with such a healthy glow. All this, without making my skin look cakey. I’ve tested so many foundations from Sephora in the past but this was one of the firsts to do it so effortlessly without making me feel like I had slapped a bunch of gunk on my skin.

Since then, I’ve repurchased another bottle and I have to say; I’m not so crazy about it anymore. I don’t know if it’s because my skin has improved since last year, I unluckily ended up with a bad batch or the texture of my skin has changed. Don’t get me wrong, the foundation still applies beautifully, it’s buildable and offers a lot of coverage. However, I’m starting to notice that after a few hours of wear, it tends to settle into my fine lines (resulting in a cakey look). I also found that I started getting oily after a few hours of wear (even though my skin isn’t oily, and the foundation is supposed to be oil-free) I’ve tried different primers, setting powders and setting sprays but I’ve had no luck. The only thing that has truly made a difference is applying the foundation with a flat foundation brush as opposed to a stippling brush or beauty blender (who knew the beauty blender wouldn’t do the job, eh?). The change in application technique has definitely made a world of a difference but it’s disappointing that it only responds to certain application techniques and not others.

PROS:                                                   CONS:

– suits all skin types                                                     – looks cakey it not applied carefully
– natural, healthy finish                                              –  oily after a few hours of wear
– infused with coconut water
– fragrance free
– 18 shades to choose from

In the end, I would cautiously recommend this foundation. If it suits your skin and is applied properly, your skin will look flawless, if not, your makeup may look cakey and it might not wear as long. Make sure it’s meant for your skin type and get testers from Sephora before committing to it (even though Sephora has a great return policy, it’s better to be safe than sorry).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset


Where to buy: Sephora, Too Faced website (it’s cheaper at Sephora)


Have you ever tried the Born This Way foundation? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Until next time,

Uhreej ⚡

3 thoughts on “Too Faced – Born This Way Foundation Review

  1. Awesome suggestion with a flat brush , I normally just apply with my hand or a foundation brush and then contouring and blending it out so tomorrow I’ll try things a little different

    Like

Leave a Reply

