Maybelline – Instant Age Rewind Concealer First Impressions

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Product Name: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer
Size: 0.2 oz
Price: $ 8.69 (+ taxes)
Shade: Light


TOO LONG, DIDN’T READ

TLDR; no testers in store, 3 shades, not suited for dry eyes, medium-high coverage, easy to blend, set with powder to avoid creasing, buy at Walmart to save $$$, 7 out of 10 would recommend.


WHAT IT CLAIMS TO DO:

Conceal dark circles (yas, gurl) and fine lines; infused with goji berry and haloxyl. If you’re wondering, goji berries are an anti-aging fruit while haloxyl is an effective ingredient for reducing under eye bags and dark circles; exactly what the product claims to do.


First Impressions/Packaging

My first impression of the product was the packaging. I was a little disappointed that the product was pre-packed and there were no testers in the store which meant I couldn’t swatch the different shades to determine which suited me best. In hindsight, I wish I took a picture of the packaging before ripping through it. Lesson learned. The concealer comes in a plastic tube and comes out of a sponge applicator which can’t be hygienic after a handful of uses.

This concealer comes in 5 different shades but I realized that 2 of the “shades” were actually just neutralizers and illuminators which would be best for people that either need to color correct or brighten their under-eyes (they could also be used with the concealer for increased coverage + brightening). If you’re anything like me, you’ll need some coverage for those dark circles in which case the concealer is the one us. The concealer comes in 3 shades (fair, light, medium). I was leaning towards medium but opted for light instead and am glad I did; medium would have been too dark for my skin tone.

 

 

20170612_125037_HDR-3
Notice how the applicator is already starting to look grungy after a handful of uses

Product

I’ve heard lots of beauty gurus and beauty bloggers raving about this concealer so I was excited to get my hands on this product. The Light shade worked perfectly with my brown skin tone. This concealer has light to medium coverage (it can be built to full coverage if it’s used along with the neutralizer or illuminator) and had a nice, creamy consistency. The sponge applicator provides an even application, however, I did find myself agreeing with the rest of the beauty community in that I wish it came with a pump or traditional concealer wand instead just to allow for better control of the product. Overall, the product is definitely better than many drugstore concealers I’ve tried in the past. It tends to settle into my fine lines and look a tad cakey if I haven’t moisturized properly so I usually make sure to set it but I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone with dry skin. If I was completely honest, I still prefer my Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer to this as I think it suits my skin type better and provides a tad bit coverage without having to apply multiple layers. However, on the flipside, I’d argue that this concealer provides the best coverage compared to other concealers by Maybelline.

*tip: make sure to hydrate your eyes before using this product!


Swatches

 

I swiped back and forth a few times in both pictures to get the amount of product I wanted. As you can see in the second picture, you can build coverage.


Where can I find this: Walmart, Shoppers Drug Mart, Rexall, Ulta (any drugstore)
Pro-tip: This concealer can be found in several drugstores, however, if you want the best deal, hit up Walmart! It was almost double the price at Shoppers Drug Mart and Rexall.


That’s all I have for today. Let me know your thoughts if you grab this on your next visit to the drugstore or if you already have it. Leave comments/suggestions down below for what you’d like me to review in the future.

Uhreej

 

9 thoughts on “Maybelline – Instant Age Rewind Concealer First Impressions

  1. Overall i think maybelline is a wonderful product. I use the superstay foundation and it suits my skin, would love to try their Fit Me range of products tho. love your blog outlook, so crisp and your Pictures are beautiful and topnotch! Hope to see more post from you.

    Like

  2. I love the Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer too!! But because mine is running out, I got this to try next. I’ve used it once or twice so I haven’t much to say yet but I think over time, I’m not gonna like how the sponge will look. Hm, I’ll have to see.

    Like

  3. I’ve got this concealer and I agree with you that it’s not totally worth the hype! The sponge applicator has got antibacterial properties but it died still get kinda gross. Great post🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

